Category Archives: Politics

State(s) of the Nation!

How many states are there in India?

// (C)

This was a very standard question in the General Knowledge examinations at my school till the fifth class. And no matter which class it was asked in, the answer remained the same – 25. That is, until recently. I kinda lost track of the number of states after that. Not just me, if you ask the number of state question to anyone today, the answer is never a certainty. It starts with 25 and then one state is added at a time, after a considerable itching in the grey cells. The moment a guy says 26, another guy, like an eBay auction, immediately adds one more to make it 27. This carries on till about 30, at which point we either develop a consensus on the most favorite number or dump the question with a “Who cares anyway”.

But then you suddenly see the oh-so-patriotic ads on television about the 60 years of independence where celebrity after celebrity declare in their American accents their love and pride for their country. Some say they love the country, they are proud to be a part of its great culture and heritage. They are proud to represent the country on the world platform.

If I were asked about what the 60 years of independence meant to me, I am sure I can match the hyperboles of any of these celebrities but I would rather ask the citizens if they can at least name all the states of their country with their capitals. So if, like me, you have also been engrossed in your daily life so much that “the states” reminds  you more of the U.S. of A., please go ahead and read the list of states, capitals and their chief ministers below. Can you do that rather than faking your love for the country by saying you would give your life for it when you know dialogues of the fanaticism genre only suit Sunny Deol and even he is not so convincing these days.

So, let’s get back to school! And by the way, there are 28 states in India and 7 Union Territories, two of which also have partial statehood powers (Delhi and Pondicherry). Pity on me that I had to go to to find that out – so I’m no saint either but hey, I’m trying! Will you?

Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar Dorjee Khandu
Assam Dispur Tarun Kumar Gogoi
Bihar Patna Nitish Kumar
Chhattisgarh Raipur Raman Singh
Delhi† Delhi Sheila Dikshit
Goa Panaji Digambar Kamat
Gujarat Gandhinagar Narendra Modi
Haryana Chandigarh Bhupinder Singh Hooda
Himachal Pradesh Simla Virbhadra Singh
Jammu and Kashmir Jammu/Srinagar Ghulam Nabi Azad
Jharkhand Ranchi Madhu Koda
Karnataka Bangalore H. D. Kumaraswamy
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram V.S. Achuthanandan
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Shivraj Singh Chauhan
Maharashtra Mumbai Vilasrao Deshmukh
Manipur Imphal Okram Ibobi Singh
Meghalaya Shillong D.D. Lapang
Mizoram Aizawl Pu Zoramthanga
Nagaland Kohima Neiphiu Rio
Orissa Bhubaneshwar Naveen Patnaik
Pondicherry† Puducherry N. Rangaswamy
Punjab Chandigarh Parkash Singh Badal
Rajasthan Jaipur Vasundhara Raje Scindia
Sikkim Gangtok Pawan Kumar Chamling
Tamil Nadu Chennai M. Karunanidhi
Tripura Agartala Manik Sarkar
Uttarakhand Dehradun B. C. Khanduri
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Mayawati
West Bengal Kolkata Buddhadeb Bhattacharya

†Delhi and Pondicherry have been included here since they do have partial state powers and have chief ministers of their own.



Filed under India, Politics